5 Days to Celebrate with a Macaron

There’s the obvious events of course – Christmas. Easter. Valentine’s Day. Mothers’ Day. And at these times of the year you can’t go anywhere that has the ability to accept payment, without being surrounded by an army of edible Santas or chocolate eggs. But I’m talking about the celebrations that we (i.e. purveyors of sweet stuff) don’t always shout about enough. And I think that every day deserves a personalised macaron.

Here are some beauties I rustled up for International Women’s Day

20140311-012126.jpg

..and here are some other days that I’m excited about celebrating properly this year:

1. International Day of Happiness

A couple of years ago, the UN recognised that the pursuit of happiness is a fundamental human goal, and awarded it its own special day on March 20th. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that a few years prior to that, Pierre Hermé, the patron (saint) of le macaron had also declared March 20th Macaron Day.

Last year, Happiness International encouraged us to all set Happiness Resolutions in support of World Happiness Day, and this year I’m making it mine to eat more macarons.

Strangely enough, March 20th is also World Sparrow Day, and the date of the Spring Equinox, when day and night are of equal length.

2. Global Love Day

May 1st  is not only my sister Ellie’s birthday, but it’s also a day dedicated to unconditional loving. What better way is there to say I BLOODY LOVE YOU, than with a macaron?

Image

3. Jamaica Day

Jamaicans celebrate their independence from the UK with a national holiday on the first Monday in August – this year that’s Monday 1st August. Anyone for a Jerk Macaron?

I became particularly fond of everything Jamaican whilst travelling around their lovely little island a couple of years ago. Irie.

4. International Day of Peace

We’ve been celebrating peace on September 21st since 1982. But you’d be forgiven for not realising that. So let’s all take a leaf out of Iceland’s book (declared the most peace-loving nation) and be a bit more peaceful today. As-salamu alaykum.

5. Coming Out Day

A day for coming out, or just for talking about and celebrating everything LGBT. How marvellous. And when it comes to camp confectionery, the macaron is definitely up there.  Coming Out Day is celebrated on 11th October, which is also my boyfriend’s birthday so a double dose of macaron merriment is on the cards.

As well as Peace, Love, Happiness, One Love and LGBT Love, I’m also looking forward to celebrating Independents’ Day (nope, that’s not a typo) on 4th July and Small Business Saturday on 6th December. A couple of American traditions that we’ve recently hijacked in support of local businesses.

20th June is bring your dog to work day, and I am really hoping my colleague Sarah is going to oblige. She’s got at least three miniature Jack Russells, each with their own wardrobe. I’m seriously excited about the whole of July being Ice Cream Month. FIVE SCOOPS PLEASE. We can thank Ronald Reagan for that one. And then there’s Movember, when these little guys are going to be doing some serious face time.

photo

Have I missed any important celebrations? Let me know, or better yet, send me your macaron inspired decoration ideas.

Leave a comment